Tags

, , , ,

“I am Hans. And I am Franz. And we just want to…[clap] PUMP…you up!”

I went to my plastic surgeon today and started the reconstruction process. Ever blow up a basketball? If you have, then you are trained to pump me up! There really isn’t much to it.

In a nutshell, an expandable balloon-like device (tissue expander) was placed into my chest wall during the mastectomy. The “balloon” is filled with saline over several months or until the desired size is reached. It has to be done slowly or your boob will explode. I’m kidding. Your skin needs to grow and heal so it’s a gradual process. When the desired size is reached, surgery is required to insert a permanent implant, but I’ll get into that down the road.

Today, my plastic surgeon inserted a super-size syringe into my “balloon” (this is painless because I have no feeling) and injected 250 ML of saline. I know, 250 ML sounds like big JOWW boobies, but believe me, they are more like Kiera Knightly boobies. In 3 weeks, I go back for more pumping and will eventually morph back into a female.

What a long strange trip its been.

Happiness & Strength,
Marie Tomi Policastro

