Tags

, , , , , , ,

I had my second round of chemo yesterday and I feel “1 milllllllion!” times better than round one. My chemo nurses say that every round treats you differently – sometimes you feel great, sometimes you have a weeklong “hangover.” I’m not normally superstitious, but from now on, I’m going to stick with the same routine as yesterday – a big hardy breakfast consisting of taylor ham (pork roll for my South Jersey friends) egg and cheese on a bagel, and a side of hash browns – and a post chemo brownie sundae from Cold Stone.

So I’ve observed a few things while sitting bored to tears in the waiting room at The Cancer Center in St. Barnabas Hospital. 

1.) Everyone is bald, and the headwear women choose leaves much to be desired. I beg of you, please don’t bust out your 1993 Blossom hats. Come on ladies, the Short Hills Mall is 2 miles from the hospital.  And a great site is www.headcovers.com

2.) The waiting room is huge (sad that it’s always filled) and you could hear a pin drop. Everyone is really quiet and if they have to talk, they whisper. Me and my family are by far the loudest group – North Jersey Italians for ya! While we are all waiting, wouldn’t it be a good opportunity for some group therapy? Maybe I will initiate a group conversation to all these whisperers or just start singing and see if anyone joins in.

3.) The chemo infusion area is like being in a funeral home. I propose outfitting each infusion room with an iPod dock so us cancer patients can rock out. There is nothing like good music to lift your spirits. I didn’t come up with this idea. The first thing my cousin Amy did when we entered the room yesterday was blast music, and I have to admit…wait for it…that room turned into awesomeness!

Cancer sucks, but there are ways to make it less depressing. I’m going to keep finding those ways because life is short and you don’t know what tomorrow will bring. Trust me.

Have a great weekend everyone!

Happiness & Strength,
Marie Tomi Policastro

