Tags

, , , , , , ,

Buzzzzzzz

It’s been an exhilarating 24 hours for this cancer patient – I’m so pumped up I can barely type. I can’t stop singing my favorite song by LMFAO – it goes… “I’m sexy and I know it.”

You know how dog owners always have hair on their clothes? Well, that was me yesterday except it was my own hair. The time had come for Steve to give me a crew cut. I have been dreading this day for the last 3 months.

So I sat on a chair in the kitchen with a big glass of wine.  Don’t worry, my doctor said I could have a glass or two every once in a while, and what better time than now? 

My cousin Amy suggested that Steve cut my hair before using the buzzer. He grabbed the Kitchen Aid scissors (the ones we use to cut fat off chicken) and started chopping. He was manipulating those scissors so aggressively that I thought he was going to cut off my ear. After about 30 seconds, he purposefully cut a mullet!!!!! UN-BELIEVABLE. I looked ridiculous, and my loving cousin blurted out that it reminded her of my hair style in 6th grade. Apparently, I went through a mullet stage at some point. Thanks mom.

After our stomachs stopped hurting from laughing so hard, it was time to bring out the buzzer. Drum roll please. In true Steve fashion, he went to town (he was having way too much fun) and my dark hair piled up on the kitchen floor. It looked like a dead animal that got spray painted pink. Before you know it, he was done and I sat there motionless for a second before I got the nerve to look in the mirror.

I very slowly moved my head into the mirror and took my first look. My mouth flew open and all I could say was “OH MY GOD, I’M BALD!” It was a surreal moment – one I will never forget. I went right into the shower to get all the hair off and I have to admit, it felt pretty awesome. Talk about low maintenance. Like my BFF Natalie said – “just think about all the money you are going to save on hair products and hair appointments.” Yes, I admit, I’m known for spending a fortune on my hair.

I was definitely a little bugged out and insecure at first, but I refuse to let a little hair keep me down for long. So I’m sitting here with my big round bald head and feeling proud. Proud of who I am, proud of my amazing partner Steve who adores me no matter what, and proud of my friends and family for supporting me and making me feel so loved.

So that’s what explains my happiness today and desire to sing.  “I’m sexy and I know it.” LOL!

http://youtu.be/wyx6JDQCslE

Happiness & Strength,
Marie Tomi Policastro

